Monday, August 10, 2009

(m)iddle end and wh(o) pe(r)sian ci(t)y cl(o)ud uncertai(n)

morton feldman - for john cage (1982) - alm records/kojima recordings inc. - 1993
yasushi toyoshima - violin, aki takahashi - piano

so powerful are these late works that a few notes suffice to identify their singular sound-world: they are at once intimate and monumental. in the late works of beethoven, there is often a passage near the end where all harmonic motion slows to a standstill, usually suspended on a trill, while reminiscences of earlier moments are heard. this is the place where feldman's late works all begin.
from notes for release by raphael mostel

gerhard richter from elbe, 31 monotypes, 1957

title from john cage's scenario for m.f.

No comments:

Post a Comment